Kerryxo Posted 18 hours ago Report Share Posted 18 hours ago Well done Redcar 👏. Referees decisions were shocking. Cook was disqualified for a lesser move than Riss, yet Kerr was disqualified. Appreciate someone has to go, and there would be critics regardless of the decision made, but consistency is key. ...Clearly Jarvis doesn't spend his free time NID 😂. 1 Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kerryxo Posted 18 hours ago Report Share Posted 18 hours ago 19 minutes ago, szkocjasid said: Now I've seen the final I can understand why the ref made the call he did. Riss pulled a slight locker but nothing major that gave Kerr nowhere to go. Kerr did drift out a little, had to stayed on the line & collected Riss I would've excluded Riss as he would've had "nowhere to go". That being said I think it was close enough to be a 50/50, that whatever decision the ref made, someone will feel hard done by. In this instance think an all four call would be totally acceptable (especially for a pairs event). Or disqualify both! Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
SteelShoe Posted 18 hours ago Report Share Posted 18 hours ago 1 hour ago, TheWellBehavedWorrall said: Congratulations to Redcar. Gutted it ended in a dead rubber final, but as harsh as that is on Kerr, Riss has passed him and is subsequently in control of the pace of the race; it’s Kerr’s responsibility to navigate that. It’s incredibly harsh and remarkably frustrating. The Cook/Barker incident was similar; I can see both sides argument, but ultimately, a decision which not everyone will agree with has to be made. Disappointed by Glasgow’s showing in the first semi-final, but Harris and Howarth were dominant in the main section of the meeting, so lots of optimism for the season ahead. Klindt was rider of the night and Sedgmen might want to offer a refund to any travelling Edinburgh fans as he didn’t appear interested in competing. All of this is right on the money for me 👍 1 Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
geoff100 Posted 18 hours ago Report Share Posted 18 hours ago The ref had 2 decisions to make and had to go running to watch the tv replays ,got the first one wrong last heat was a 50/50 call.tate will need a bit of time to get back to last years scores,would love to see that crowd back every week! 1 Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
BlueIn2Red Posted 18 hours ago Report Share Posted 18 hours ago 1 hour ago, bringbackHalifax said: It wasn’t a racing accident. Riss parked it on purpose and left Kerr nowhere to go. Last year Nichols was excluded for that. You won’t be surprised to hear I disagree with you. If Riss was excluded, he’d have been equally unhappy, as would many others. But that’s not my point - all these kind of incidents are subjective judgement calls (so people will disagree), but the problem is that the referees aren’t allowed to have an opinion of “neither to blame/both to blame equally”. So even if they think that, they have to exclude somebody. A very strange and misguided rule imo. 2 Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
A.N.Other Posted 18 hours ago Report Share Posted 18 hours ago 59 minutes ago, Woke23 said: Disappointed with the comets lads today. Vuolas improved as the meeting went on and I have no concerns he'll do well at home this season. Tate is the one concerning me. Coming in as the no.5 is a big ask after such a big injury. Last year he was superb. Today he looked slow gating and even slower around the track. I just hope it's the bike and not his confidence. It did seem like the bike was running slow. He was visually frustrated with his bike from what I saw. He was anxiously rotating the throttle handle at one point. So maybe just bike probs. ? Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Woke23 Posted 17 hours ago Report Share Posted 17 hours ago 11 minutes ago, A.N.Other said: He was visually frustrated with his bike from what I saw. He was anxiously rotating the throttle handle at one point. So maybe just bike probs. ? I hope so. I wonder who his mechanic is this season. You'd have thought they'd have it sorted a couple of heats in Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
crescent girl Posted 17 hours ago Report Share Posted 17 hours ago 2 hours ago, szkocjasid said: It seems odd to complain about riders trying, but I keep reading on the updates the rider in 2nd in a 5-4 heat advantage, passed the rider in 1st (during the last 3 heats) and I think why bother? Hope they didn't take any risks doing so. Points money? Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Gambo95 Posted 17 hours ago Report Share Posted 17 hours ago 27 minutes ago, BlueIn2Red said: You won’t be surprised to hear I disagree with you. If Riss was excluded, he’d have been equally unhappy, as would many others. But that’s not my point - all these kind of incidents are subjective judgement calls (so people will disagree), but the problem is that the referees aren’t allowed to have an opinion of “neither to blame/both to blame equally”. So even if they think that, they have to exclude somebody. A very strange and misguided rule imo. The problem is that Scott passed Charles last year and then Charles run into him. That is exactly the same as what happend today. Surely with the 2 different referees seeing TV footage of the incidents we get the same exclusion (not different like we got). They have both been trained so surely they are shown scenarios and how to judge them while doing their training. if both referees hadn't seen footage of the incidents then I can see them getting different results but I cannot see them getting different results after seeing tv footage. 1 Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
SteelShoe Posted 17 hours ago Report Share Posted 17 hours ago Some cracking racing after the first 4 heats following a track grade which created more of an outside dirt line. Dust was kept to minimum and was not really an issue so well done to Steve and Andrew on that one. It was great to see Nicolai Klindt back in Worky and he reminded Comets fans of the rider that played a big part in the 2018 Comets trophy treble, he is some gater. Congratulations to the Redcar Bears who have a great record in recent years in this competition, there fans attended in numbers and they were well rewarded. For what it's worth after watching a replay of the final on Facebook I think the ref got the decision right in excluding Lewis Kerr. Thanks to all the fans that made the effort to attend today, crowds do help make these occasions that bit more special. The temperature differential in the stadium between the sunny and shady sides was very noticeable and at least a top coat difference on the shady side due to the chilly stiff north easterly breeze. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Jaizer Posted 16 hours ago Report Share Posted 16 hours ago Decent meeting considering the conditions. Shame it ended in a dead rubber but looked the correct decision. Out of interest did we have choice of gates in semi and took 1 and 3 when 2 and 4 had looked better most of the meeting? Good to see brother Steve mixing it after missing so much of last season Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Gazc Posted 16 hours ago Report Share Posted 16 hours ago 1 minute ago, Jaizer said: Decent meeting considering the conditions. Shame it ended in a dead rubber but looked the correct decision. Out of interest did we have choice of gates in semi and took 1 and 3 when 2 and 4 had looked better most of the meeting? Good to see brother Steve mixing it after missing so much of last season Announced over the PA that we had choice of gates in the semi-final. 1 Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
geoff100 Posted 16 hours ago Report Share Posted 16 hours ago 1 minute ago, Gazc said: Announced over the PA that we had choice of gates in the semi-final. I heard cammi telling someone they had chosen the wrong gates ! Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Sir Sidney Posted 16 hours ago Report Share Posted 16 hours ago 1 hour ago, geoff100 said: The ref had 2 decisions to make and had to go running to watch the tv replays ,got the first one wrong last heat was a 50/50 call.tate will need a bit of time to get back to last years scores,would love to see that crowd back every week! Under the regulations the referee must use TV replays if provided. (02.2.11 - During the meeting - g) Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
szkocjasid Posted 16 hours ago Report Share Posted 16 hours ago 1 hour ago, BlueIn2Red said: You won’t be surprised to hear I disagree with you. If Riss was excluded, he’d have been equally unhappy, as would many others. But that’s not my point - all these kind of incidents are subjective judgement calls (so people will disagree), but the problem is that the referees aren’t allowed to have an opinion of “neither to blame/both to blame equally”. So even if they think that, they have to exclude somebody. A very strange and misguided rule imo. Agree with all of that. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
szkocjasid Posted 16 hours ago Report Share Posted 16 hours ago To defend Riss, when he got past, Kerr was virtually on the white line, when they clashed they were both a meter further out. Had Kerr stayed on the white line & they clashed I definitely would've excluded Riss, but the fact Kerr drifted makes it more of a 50/50 decision for me. Still think either could've gone, still think I wouldn't blast the ref no matter what he decided, still think they should be allowed to call an all-four here. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
szkocjasid Posted 15 hours ago Report Share Posted 15 hours ago (edited) 3 hours ago, BlueIn2Red said: One of the speedway rules that frustrates me most is “somebody has to be excluded for incidents after the first corner” - why? If it’s a racing incident, 50/50, nobody to blame, just let them race again. Very frustrating! Doubly so in a pairs event. The downside of that would be referees could end up doing multiple all-fours to avoid having to make a decision & multiple re-runs with all-four mean the match goes on for ages. That happens in cycle speedway lol! But I do feel it would have been a fair call this time. Maybe restrict that ruling to shared events / GPs / play-offs etc. Or just explain to the referees only use it in exceptional circumstances, where there really is no-one at fault? Not to use as a get out of jail card & give the ref an easy night? Don't think any fans in attendance would've minded an all-four here. Edited 15 hours ago by szkocjasid 2 Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
ragdoll64 Posted 15 hours ago Report Share Posted 15 hours ago 22 minutes ago, szkocjasid said: The downside of that would be referees could end up doing multiple all-fours to avoid having to make a decision & multiple re-runs with all-four mean the match goes on for ages. That happens in cycle speedway lol! But I do feel it would have been a fair call this time. Maybe restrict that ruling to shared events / GPs / play-offs etc. Or just explain to the referees only use it in exceptional circumstances, where there really is no-one at fault? Not to use as a get out of jail card & give the ref an easy night? Don't think any fans in attendance would've minded an all-four here. The way I see it……if Kerr had been in a position to take avoiding action but didn’t….then he should have been rightly excluded. As it stood, there was absolutely no avoiding action he could have taken therefore Riss was the cause of the stoppage. Exactly as the Wright/Nicolas incident last year. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Gazc Posted 15 hours ago Report Share Posted 15 hours ago 1 hour ago, geoff100 said: I heard cammi telling someone they had chosen the wrong gates ! Sounds about right. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
IainB Posted 14 hours ago Report Share Posted 14 hours ago How often have we seen these pairs events ruined by events in the final meaning the result is a forgone conclusion?!? Personally I'd just make it a winner take all final i.e. whoever wins the race. ... and 55 minutes to run the last 3 races is ridiculous! Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Recommended Posts
Join the conversation
You can post now and register later. If you have an account, sign in now to post with your account.
Note: Your post will require moderator approval before it will be visible.